TimesToCome Mobile

iOS apps and tips, tricks and tools for smart phones

iPhone personal data not removed from iPhones by restore




With the new iPhone arriving soon there will be lots of iPhones being sold on eBay and other places. But your iPhone does not remove your personal data when you do a wipe and restore.

Before selling your iPhone on eBay, sending it to Apple, or otherwise sharing it, note the following: performing a “Restore” operation on the iPhone does not delete personal data from the device. In fact, mail, contacts, and various other data remain intact on the device after a restore, making the process unsuitable as a preparatory measure for iPhone resale or service. [ read more Warning iPhone ‘Restore’ does not delete personal data ]

But Hack a day has come up with a way to erase your iphone data.

See also:
How to completely erase iPhone user data part two: command line edition